Beef Pho (Express Edition)

|November 20, 2020 Friday|

Wow! The last post was about a year and a half ago. The reason behind this sudden revival of my food blog is because I have to lead by example. As some of you already know, I teach on a regular basis for about 4.5 years now. Ever since I came back to Singapore, I have started teaching. This week, I have set up a challenge for my students. The best written recipe will get featured on my food blog next week! Hurrah! Let them have a taste of being famous and getting featured (then again, the traffic on this page is a quite abysmal so I am not too sure if that’s a great experience). However, before I feature some of my best students’ work, I would like to present my Beef Pho recipe – Express Edition.

Ingredients (Serving Size – 4-5)

2 litres of beef broth (I used Campbell’s – they are so delicious)

1.5 Large Onions (0.5 Thinly Sliced + 1 Onion Diced)

1 knob of ginger (Diced)

2 pieces of star anise

1 stick of cinnamon

8-10 cloves

1 packet of Rice Noodles

250g of thinly sliced beef (Shabu Shabu style)

10 beef balls

Basil Leaves

Mint Leaves

Chopped Green and Red Chillies

Lime Wedges

Beansprouts

A pinch of salt

50ml of fish sauce

50g of sugar

Steps for making the broth

  1. Bring the 2L beef broth to boil.
  2. Place the diced ginger and diced onions into the broth.
  3. Put the salt, sugar, and fish sauce into the broth.
  4. Let it simmer for 30-40 minutes.
  5. Place the cloves, cinnamon stick and star anise into a teabag.
  6. Place the bag into the pot and let it simmer for another 30-40minutes.
  7. After 30-40minutes, take the teabag out.
  8. Taste and adjust acccordingly.

Steps for plating the bowl

  1. Bring a pot of water to boil.
  2. Cook the rice noodles in the boiling water for about 2 minutes.
  3. Take it out and put it into a bowl.
  4. Garnish the bowl according to preference and lay the thinly sliced beef on top of the noodles.
  5. Pour in the hot broth to cook the beef and bean sprouts.

Tips: You can substitute beef broth with chicken broth if you dislike the beefy smell.

Leave a comment