Homemade Thin Crust Pizza

|28th March 2017|

Pizzaaaaaaaa! I decided to bring in the homemade series today. It’s been awhile since I made food from scratch. Working as a teacher in Singapore can be hectic. Don’t get me wrong, the joy is still there but the copious amount of papers I have to mark… it’s ridiculous.

I woke up this morning feeling very groggy. My hands were itching. Looking around the house, I just wanted to play with a toy. On any other days, my puzzle or a book would do but today felt different and… BAM! Pizza!

I went online to research on pizza dough and learnt a new fact! 00 flour is the flour that Italian used to make their pizza and more information, please refer to Virtuous Bread

According to Virtuous Bread, Italian flour is graded by colour (technically called extraction rate – that is the extent to which the bran and the germ are extracted from the flour).  It is marked 00 to 04 where 00 is really really white and 04 is rather closer to wholemeal.

Interesting, aye?

Anyways, I got 3.5 cups of bread flour (because that was the closest to 00 flour they have) in the dry bowl with 1 teaspoon of salt.

Then, in the wet bowl, pour in 1.5 cup really warm water ( a lot of recipes just called it really warm water so I guess you just wing it) and 1 teaspoon of sugar and 11ml of dry active yeast.

Mix them up and knead it into a dough and set it aside for it to rise!

Topping is really up to you but I had two different sauce base: My special tomato concoction and pesto sauce

If you are wondering what is that special tomato sauce, I mixed some diced tomatoes and tomato paste with 3 teaspoons of Prego traditional Pasta Sauce.

Voila!

Leave a Reply

