Coconut Oil Banana Crumb Muffins

wp-1486804761161.jpg

|February 11, 2017|

So… on a scorching Saturday afternoon, I decided to bake a Coconut Oil Banana Crumb Muffin! I don’t think it’s me over compensating for the lack of content the past two years. I have just recently started to research on meal prep, coconut oil and fresh juice/smoothies. I have been drinking coconut water and replacing my soda intake with that. I mean, we all take baby steps right?

Without noticing the concurrent overlapping of said hipster symptoms, I rolled in bed this afternoon and decided to make good use of my semi-rotting bananas (that the grandma kept complaining about “The bananas are sour!” Says the lady that is sitting on the sofa now and munching on my delicious banana crumb muffin exclaiming ” Whoa! Without a single drop of butter?!”).

I started looking through websites and scouring for recipes. I came across a website that made regular banana crumb muffin and I replaced the butter with extra virgin coconut oil. As if saying extra virgin would make the whole process sound more atas than it already is not. After an intense 3 mins, I have decided on the recipe I was going to use (most of my recipes come from my gut… feeling). Off we go!

You will need:

  • 1.5 cups all-purpose flour (dry bowl)
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder (dry bowl)
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda (dry bowl)
  • 0.5 teaspoon of salt (dry bowl)
  • 0.3 cup of brown sugar (wet bowl)
  • 0.2 cup of white sugar (wet bowl)
  • 1 egg (wet bowl)
  • 0.3 cups of coconut oil (wet bowl)
  • 3 mashed bananas (wet bowl)

Preheat the oven to 190 degree celsius or 375 F about 10 minutes before placing the muffins in. Once you are done mixing both individual bowls, pour the wet mixture into the dry bowl. Stir it until you get a sticky liquid consistency. Meanwhile, take our a small bowl and throw in:

  • 2 TB of all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon powder
  • 1 TB of coconut oil
  • 0.3 cups of brown sugar

Stir this small bowl until you get crumb-like consistency. Put it aside and start oiling your muffin tray. Rub coconut oil on the pan for great ease later (trust me). Fill each muffin cup with 3/4 of the batter. Top the crumble on top and place it in the oven for 18-22 minutes.

Voila! You don’t even need vanilla essence or butter at all. Coconut oil is high in natural saturated fats. Saturated fats not only increase the healthy cholesterol (known as HDL) in your body but also help to convert the LDL “bad” cholesterol into good cholesterols.

This recipe is so delish that even my grandma mumbled under her breath, ” This taste better than mine”

With that, have a lovely weekend and I will see you in the next post!

Leave a Reply

