Doolami (多乐蜜)

FullSizeRender (2)

|May 22, 2015|

Yes! I am back with a new restaurant review. Today, I will be introducing a dessert house that is really close to my apartment here in Vancouver. This little dessert house is called “Doolami”. I am not sure how this name came to be but I am very sure they serve mouthwatering dessert because I actually went back two days in a row!

When you enter this little dessert house, it is bright and small. They make good use of the space and is able to fill at least 20 people, I believe. They only open from 7pm to 12 midnight. The menu is very simple. They have a black menu with only about less than 10 items. They have homemade ice cream that comes in 5 flavours: Chocolate, Matcha, Durian, Blueberry Lavender – I don’t remember the remaining flavour but I was only drawn to the Durian and Blueberry Lavender because they are harder to come by. Also, durian has an acquired taste. I brought two friends along on separate occasions and they are not fond of durians so I did not order it. The main featured picture seems to be their house special – Shaved Ice, Red bean and Chewy Sweet Potato, Yam and Green Tea chewies? I don’t know what they are called. But who cares what they are called because I finished the entire thing in seconds. I cannot even begin to describe the feeling of the ice melting in my mouth. The shaved ice dancing on my tongue and swirling with milk and … JUST TRY IT ALREADY!!

I highly recommend this place. They even have a polaroid booth for you to take free poraloids. You just subscribe to them on WeChat and send the picture in and voila – your polaroid picture. A pretty cute marketing gimmick.

I would give this restaurant ★★★★☆ for taste, ★★★★★ for service and ★★★★☆ for value. They have very good service (pretty surprising for an Asian dessert house) and I can see they have a very interesting approach toward engaging with their customers. They do not have a full website but they do have a weibo page (like a Chinese Twitter page). Doolami is located at 8030 Granville St, Vancouver, BC V6P and you can check out dessert updates at their Weibo or follow them on Instagram.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

